Spring Fire Symphony by Arnold Bax

English composer Arnold Bax completed this work for orchestra in 1913 and intended to premiere the work in Norwich in 1914. The outbreak of the first world war delayed the premiere, and while several subsequent dates for when the work would finally have a public performance were propositioned, it is likely the work was never played before Bax died in 1953.

Bax commented that the work was inspired by the poem ‘Atalanta in Calydon’ by Algernon Swinburne and is scored for a large orchestra. The symphony is comprised of a single movement.

3 months, 1 week ago

Phantasy for Viola and Orchestra by Arnold Bax

Bax completed this work for viola and orchestra in 1920 while living in London. During his time studying at the Royal Academy of Music, Bax was introduced to the Violist Lionel Tertis. Bax was so impressed with the ability of Tertis that he was inspired compose this work as well as other compositions featuring the viola. This phantasy would be dedicated to Tertis.

This composition is comprised of three movements:
I. Poco lento – Allegro moderato
II. Lento semplice
III. Allegro vivace

3 months, 3 weeks ago

November Woods by Arnold Bax

This tone poem for orchestra was completed in 1917 with the premiere performance being given in November of 1920 in Manchester. The work was an immediate success and was given additional performances at the Queen’s Hall in London through 1920. Bax indicated that the work was meant to evoke a mood rather than a picture or story.

This work is comprised of a single movement.

4 months, 2 weeks ago

Tintagel by Sir Arnold Bax

English composer Sir Arnold Bax completed this symphonic poem for orchestra in 1919, with the premiere performance being given in October of 1921 in Bouremouth. Bax was prompted to compose this work during a holiday to Cornwall in 1917. As part of this visit, Bax would visit Tintagel castle, and was so enamoured by the remains of the fortification and the sea cliffs on the peninsula that he would compose this work.

This piece is comprised of a single movement.

5 months, 2 weeks ago