A 1983 Allegro Film written and directed by Christopher Nupen.

A magnificent performance of the Sonatas for violin and alto Op. 120 N° 1 and 2, introduced by a presentation by Christopher Nupen.

Violist: Pinchas Zukerman
Pianist: Marc Neikrug

- Johannes Brahms, Viola Sonata No. 1 in F Minor, Op. 120 No. 1
1. Allegro appassionato
2. Andante un poco Adagio
3. Allegretto grazioso
4. Vivace

- Johannes Brahms, Sonata for Viola and Piano in E flat Major, Op. 120 No. 2
1. Allegro amabile
2. Appassionato, ma non troppo allegro
3. Andante con moto

3 months, 1 week ago

A 1983 Allegro Film written and directed by Christopher Nupen.

1. Violin Sonata No.2 in A major Op. 100
2. Violin Sonata No.3 in D minor Op. 108

Violin: Pinchas Zukerman
Pianist: Marc Neikrug

Part 3: https://www.bitchute.com/video/foMU1Wr1QUIq/

3 months, 1 week ago

A 1983 Allegro Film written and directed by Christopher Nupen.

Mr. Nupen combines biography with performance. Using narration, film footage of mostly sylvan scenes in Germany and Switzerland, and archival photographs, he tells the story of how Johannes Brahms, barely 20, first met Clara and Robert Schumann in 1853, a meeting that would be a crucial influence on the rest of his life. The film breaks away from the narration for passionate performances of two related Brahms compositions: the F. A. E. Scherzo and the G-major Violin Sonata Op.78.

It was Joseph Joachim, Germany's leading violinist and Brahms's close companion, who urged the young composer to knock on the Schumann's Dusseldorf door unannounced. The rapport was immediate and intense. Schumann would write in his journal: ''Here is a man of destiny . . . We shall have in store for us wonderful insights into the spiritual world.'' As a surprise for Joachim, Schumann suggested a collaborative effort to compose a sonata. The piece was called the F. A. E. Sonata. Joachim's motto was ''Frei aber einsam'' (free but lonely). Brahms composed the scherzo section.

Tragedy stalked the Schumanns. After a suicide attempt, Robert was institutionalized until his death two years later in 1856. Brahms, still in his 20's, found himself in love with Clara, 14 years his senior. Mr. Nuper delicately speaks of ''a relationship of unfathomable complexity.'' That relationship would evolve into an enduring friendship. More than 20 years later, in 1878, Brahms published his sonata for violin and piano, dedicated to the memory of Felix Schumann, the last of Clara's children and, like his brother and sister before him, victim of an untimely death.

Violinist: Pinchas Zukerman
Pianist: Marc Neikrug.

Part 2: https://www.bitchute.com/video/IXh9qm99orCW/

3 months, 1 week ago

Violin Concerto in D, Op.77

1 year, 6 months ago

One of best passages from Brahms piano concerto 2, a work of great pOWER that you must listen to again and again for inspiration of high thoughts and great plans....



1 year, 9 months ago